Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

ABC MUSIC scores 17 ARIA nominations and wins three Fine Arts ARIAs!


ABC Music has once again scored multiple ARIA nominations across categories ranging from Classical and Jazz to Country, Children and Comedy.

The near-record number of 17 nominations across nine ARIA categories, announced in Sydney today (Wednesday, 12 October 2011), has once again confirmed the diversity and quality of the ABC Music catalogue.

ABC Music was also awarded three of the four ARIA Fine Arts awards, for Best Classical Album (Sally Whitwell’s Mad Rush: The Solo Piano Music of Philip Glass), Best Jazz Album (Elixir featuring Katie Noonan: First Seed Ripening) and Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album (Chris Lilley’s Angry Boys).

Director of ABC Commercial, Lynley Marshall, congratulated all the nominees and winning ABC artists. ‘We are so proud of the depth and breadth of quality shining through in all our specialist genres and I wish the nominees all the very best of luck in the forthcoming awards to be announced in late November.’

Head of ABC Music, Robert Patterson, said it was pleasing to see not just such a broad range of musicians represented in the awards, but also the growing number of new and emerging Australian artists who have been recognised. ‘To have won three of the four Fine Arts Awards is a great acknowledgment of our ongoing support for quality musical performance and composition in such a wide range of genres,’ he said.

The 17 nominations were:

Best Classical Album
Latitude 37 – Latitude 37
Sally Whitwell – Mad Rush: The Piano Music of Philip Glass
Teddy Tahu Rhodes – Serious Songs
Karin Schaupp and the Flinders Quartet – Fandango

Best Jazz Album
The Idea of North – Extraordinary Tale
Sarah Mckenzie – Don’t Tempt Me
Elixir featuring Katie Noonan – First Seed Ripening

Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album
Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Don John of Austria
Chris Lilley – Angry Boys: Official Soundtrack Album

Best World Music Album
Slava & Leonard Grigoryan / Joseph & James Tawadros – Band of Brothers

Best DVD
Various Artists – triple j’s One Night Stand

Best Country Album
Jasmine Rae – Listen Here

Best Blues & Roots Album
The Audreys – Sometimes The Stars

Best Comedy Release
Buddy Goode – The One and Only Buddy Goode

Best Children’s Album
Holly Throsby – See!
Play School – Let’s Play Together
The Wiggles – Ukulele Baby!

Fine Arts Awards:

In the Best Classical Album category, pianist Sally Whitwell’s Mad Rush: The Solo Piano Music of Philip Glass was the winner – the 18th consecutive time that an ABC Classics album has won. Whitwell’s groundbreaking album presents all of Glass’s finest solo piano music and is the first of its kind recorded in Australia.

‘Philip Glass's music up close is like impressionist pixelations. Step back a little and you see magnificent, undulating, organic shapes,’ says pianist Whitwell, for whom this is a debut solo recording.

In the Best Jazz Album category, Elixir featuring Katie Noonan won with First Seed Ripening, released on the ABC Jazz label. The album is still No. 1 on the ARIA Jazz and Blues charts after making its debut two months ago. Recorded in the white heat of inspiration in Studio 227 at ABC Ultimo in April, it has been hailed as Noonan’s most creatively inspired, deeply personal recording since her early years with the Brisbane band george. ‘Our aim,’ Katie says, ‘was to make gentle, intimate music, and it was all about freedom and spontaneity.’ Based on the subtle, deeply humane poetry of Thomas Shapcott, the Elixir trio’s album penetrates deep into the heart of the Queensland poet’s words, with the help of string players from the Australian Chamber Orchestra (with whom Katie has worked regularly), and leading jazz players Jonathan Zwartz on bass and Simon Barker on drums. It is Katie’s fourth ARIA Award.

The Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album was won by Chris Lilley for his Angry Boys soundtrack.

This award is an acknowledgement of Chris Lilley’s remarkable skill as a composer and performer. The soundtrack features a significant amount of original music, performed most notably by the character S.mouse, as well as extensive themes and underscoring composed by Lilley.

For more information contact Laura Bell – ABC Music.
P: (02) 8333 2853 E:

Six Artists To Watch In 2022

Here's who's gonna make a splash in the New Year!


Lee Kernaghan

6 tunes that need to be on your Xmas playlist

6 tunes that need to be on your Xmas playlist

Can you hear those Jingle Bells? 10 tunes you need on your Xmas playlist

Get to know our 2021 ARIA Award nominees!

It’s almost time for Aussie music’s night of nights – the 2021 ARIA awards!

Get your gear on for Ausmusic T-shirt Day!

It's that time of year again!

Meet Our New Signings - Baby Velvet, Jamie McDell and Melanie Dyer! 

In an unprecedented turn of events, ABC Music has had three amazing new artists join our family over the past month.

"They gave him back in a potato sack" - The Story of 'Restless Dream'

It’s estimated upwards of 10,000 Aboriginal remains are held in museums around the world.

7 Deadly Covers To Kick Off Your NAIDOC Week

July is here! Which means NAIDOC week is just around the corner.

Five times artists got really (we mean really) creative with their merch

We love artist merch over here at ABC Music, just peep our Aus Music T-Shirt day pics as proof.