Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

Vivaldi - Il Flauto Dolce: Instrumental Opera for Voice Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

An original concept conceived by and starring Australian virtuoso recorder player, Genevieve Lacey, this recording takes segments from both vocal and instrumental works by Vivaldi (eg. La Griselda, RV 718; Non in pratis aut in hortis RV 641; Concerto in C for Recorder and Strings, RV 443; La Senna Festeggiante, RV 693; L'inconronazione di Dario, RV719; Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo in F minor, RV 26 and many others) to create a pasticcio, in this case a sort of opera without words.
A pasticcio; is defined as a work or style produced by borrowing fragments, ingredients, or motifs from various sources; a potpourri.

ARIA Winner! This superb album has been awarded the Best Classical Album ARIA Award for 2001.

Shining as always, the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, directed by Paul Dyer, not only accompany Lacey, but on a couple of tracks, also take the center stage themselves.

Track listing:
ANTONIO VIVALDI (1678-1741) Il Flauto Dolce ; An instrumental opera for recorder and orchestra
ACT ONE The scene is set Sinfonia from La Griselda
RV 718 1

We are reminded of the sad state of affairs Sinfonia from La Senna festeggiante,
RV 693 13 II Andante molto The dilemma seems insurmountable, L’inconronazione di Dario (Act I, Scene I),
RV 719 14 Figlie tergete i lumi Concerto in C minor for recorder and strings,
RV 441 15

Duration: Approx. 61 mins. 2001 Genevieve Lacey, recorder Australian Brandenburg Orchestra on period instruments Paul Dyer

  • I Allegro –
  • 2 II Andante –
  • 3 III Minuetto: Allegro

  • The heroine speaks Non in pratis aut in hortis (Introduzione al Miserere for Alto and Strings),
    RV 641 4 I Non in pratis aut in hortis Concerto in C for flautino and strings,
    RV 443 5
    • I [Allegro] 6
    • II Largo 7
    • III Allegro molto

    • She is met with a chilling response Filiæ maestæ Jerusalem (Introduzione al Miserere for alto and strings),
      RV 638 8 III Sed tenebris diffusis Concerto in D for strings,
      RV 124 9 II Grave We hear her plea for understanding Concerto in F for recorder and strings,
      RV 442 10 II Largo e cantabile A raging tempest ensues Concerto in C minor for strings,
      RV118 11 III Allegro Our heroine laments O qui cœli terræque serenitas (Motet for Soprano and Strings),
      RV 631 12 I O qui cœli terræque serenitas
      • I Allegro non molto 16
      • II Largo

      • A new voice speaks of hope Sonata for violin and basso continuo in G minor,
        RV 26 17 I [Adagio] Nulla in mundo pax sincera (Motet for soprano and strings),
        RV 630 18 I Nulla in mundo pax sincera Understanding evolves Sonata in B-flat for Two Violins and Basso Continuo,
        RV 78 19 I Preludio: Adagio Sweet reconciliation Concerto in F for recorder and strings,
        RV 442 20 I Allegro non molto Preparation for the festivities Concerto in F for strings,
        RV 442 21 I Allegro molto All are united in joyous celebration Concerto in C for recorder and strings,
        RV 444 22
        • I Allegro non molto 23
        • II Largo 24
        • III Allegro molto
Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.