Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!


Much-loved Australian power-pop outfit Custard return with their first album in 16 Years, the fittingly-titled Come Back, All Is Forgiven, to be released on November 6 via ABC Music.

Featuring the classic lineup of frontman David McCormack, drummer Glenn Thompson, bass player Paul Medew and guitarist Matthew Strong, the album was recorded over a weekend in Thompson’s studio and features 11 new songs – their first new material since 1999’s Loverama.

“It sounds just like Custard’’, Thompson reports. “Put the four of us together and that’s the sound you get, it could be an album we put out in 2001”.’

Having formed in Brisbane in 1990, Custard released five albums over the following decade (Buttercup/Bedford, Wahooti Fandango, Wisenheimer, We Have the Technology and Loverama). The band developed a cult following, playing countless shows around the country and touring overseas, as well as producing a parade of memorable singles, several of which became entrenched in Australian pop music history. ‘Apartment’ polled higher than any other local artist in triple j’s Hottest 100 in 1995, with ‘Girls Like That (Don’t Go For Guys Like Us)’ coming in at #3 in the 1998 vote, before the group disbanded in 1999.

The members have all remained active in the intervening period, playing in groups including The Go-Betweens, The Titanics, The Polaroids, The Lost Gospel, The Purple Hearts and Beachfield.

After playing a handful of well-received reunion shows in recent years, the band ventured into the studio in February 2015 to see if this renewed enthusiasm might result in fresh material. The results inspired them to embark on the dreaded “come back” and release their first album in 16 years. 

The Huntington Estate Music Festival is one of the brightest stars in Australia’s musical firmament. For three decades, it has been bringing together top-flight musicians from around the country and around the world to present a breathtaking array of chamber music masterpieces, both iconic favourites and delicious new discoveries. Presented by the Huntington Estate Winery in association with Musica Viva Australia, and held in the winery’s Barrel Room, one of the most remarkable and surprising music venues in the world, the Festival is a delight to audiences and musicians alike.After 30 stellar years of exceptional music-making, however, the 2019 Festival will be the last, with Huntington Estate owners Tim and Nicky Stevens reluctantly deciding that their grapes – and their young family – must come first. To mark this significant occasion, ABC Classic is proud to delve into its broadcast archives to present this selection of some of the Festival’s most memorable performances across a typically diverse and intriguing range of repertoire: from Schubert and Dvořák to Bach’s astonishing eldest son Wilhelm Friedemann and Australian composers Ross Edwards and Ian Munro.It was Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra who began the Festival and established it as a serious contender on the world stage – and the hottest concert tickets in the country! This album includes superb three recordings from those early years: music of Mendelssohn, Brahms and Percy Grainger.In 2006, the ACO passed the baton to Musica Viva and Artistic Director Carl Vine, opening up the Festival’s artist roster to an extraordinary range of musicians, both local and international. From among the literally hundreds of thrilling performances, this album features New York-based Australian pianist Andrea Lam, Russian-Armenian clarinettist Narek Arutyunian, the rich bass-baritone of Teddy Tahu Rhodes and Vienna’s acclaimed Eggner Trio, along with regular Festival guests the Goldner String Quartet and the rising stars of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) Chamber Orchestra.…/2The CD of this compilation is available exclusively at the Festival itself, but for all those who can’t make the trip to Mudgee, ABC Classic is releasing the full album as a digital album, for download and streaming, so that audiences all around the world can share in the celebration. TRACKLISTING  1     MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’: II. Vivace non troppo2     BRAHMS arr. ANGERER Chorale Prelude ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’3     GRAINGER Blithe Bells       Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti director (2002 / 2004)        SCHUBERT4     An die Musik (To Music)5     Erlkönig (The Erl-King)6     Die Forelle (The Trout)7     Die Taubenpost (Pigeon Post) from Schwanengesang       Teddy Tahu Rhodes bass-baritone, Kristian Chong piano (2007)        WF BACH Sinfonia in F major ‘Dissonant’8     I. Vivace9     II. Andante10   III. Vivace11   IV. Menuetto I & II       ANAM Chamber Orchestra, Paul Wright violin / conductor (2010)      12   ROSS EDWARDS String Quartet No. 2 ‘Shekina Fantasy’:       I. Allegro moderato       Goldner String Quartet (2010)        MENDELSSOHN13   Song without Words Op. 67 No. 2 – Allegro leggiero14   Song without Words Op. 85 No. 4 – Andante sostenuto       Andrea Lam piano (2012) 15   WEBER Clarinet Quintet in B-flat major: II. Fantasia       Narek Arutyunian clarinet, Australian String Quartet (2012)        MUNRO Piano Trio No. 2 ‘Book of Lullabies’ – Excerpts16   II. Lullaby in Edo17   III. Kun Mun Kultani Tulisi18   IV. Skye Boat Song       Dimity Hall violin, Julian Smiles cello, Ian Munro piano (2013) 19   DVOŘÁK Piano Trio No. 1: II. Adagio molto e mesto       Eggner Trio (2015)
triple j's much-loved Like A Version series returns with its 16th volume – featuring a host of local and international artists covering their favourite tunes, aired on triple j brekky with hosts Sally and Erica .This year's double album features a collection of 40 tracks including Childish Gambino's cover of Chris Gaines' 'Lost In You', Angie McMahon's version of 'Knowing Me, Knowing You' by ABBA, Alex Lahey's rendition of 'Welcome To The Black Parade' by My Chemical Romance + loads more!TRACKLISTINGCD 11. Alex Lahey - Welcome To The Black Parade2. Lime Cordiale - I Touch Myself3. Taka Perry - Jesus Walks (Ft. A Girl, Emalia, Gia Vorne)4. Eves Karydas - Painkiller5. Polish Club - Say So6. Childish Gambino - Lost In You7. Angie McMahon - Knowing Me, Knowing You8. Hermitude - Heart-Shaped Box9. Bugs - Charlie10. Milky Chance - Dance Monkey11. BENEE - Mile High12. Gordi - Wrecking Ball13. Hauskey - Mr. Brightside14. Dominic Fike - Bags15. Stella Donnelly - Love Is In The Air16. Kim Churchill - Don't Know How To Keep Loving You17. Jimblah - What's Going On18. The Naked And Famous - Blinding Lights19. Gengahr - everything i wanted20. Northlane - Get FreeCD 21. G Flip - Lady Marmalade2. Fergus James - Soaked3. Azure Ryder - Don't Start Now4. ChillinIT - Sugar {Ft. Lil Dijon}5. Stand Atlantic - Righteous6. Japanese Wallpaper - California7. Leikeli47 - No Diggity8. Alex The Astronaut - Mr. Blue Sky9. Petit Biscuit - 190110. Nilufer Yanya - Super Rich Kids11. The Vanns - Hey, Ma12. Wafia - My My My!13. Jarryd James - When The War Is Over14. Maddy Jane - Unwritten15. Mickey Kojak - Parlez Vous Francais16. Of Monsters And Men - Circles17. Becca Hatch - Burn For You18. Bad//Dreems - Blackfella/Whitefella {Ft. Peter Garrett, Mambali, Emily Wurramara}19. Yours Truly - Don't Look Back In Anger20. Tones And I - Forever Young