Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Tim Finn Confirms A New Home And A New Album


Universally acclaimed singer/songwriter Tim Finn has signed a new deal with ABC Music Australia who will release the artist’s ninth solo studio album The View Is Worth The Climb locally August 26. The album will be distributed by Universal Music Australia.

The album was recorded late last year at Roundhead Studios Auckland with Grammy Award winning, US Producer/Mixer Jacquire King (Kings Of Leon, Tom Waits, Norah Jones and Modest Mouse).

Tim Finn, one of the most praised and admired artists of the past thirty years has enjoyed a unique and remarkable career. From his time with pop pioneers Split Enz (which he co-founded) and Crowded House to a successful solo career, Finn has shown no signs of slowing, in the process penning such classics as Six Months In A Leaky Boat, Poor Boy, Dirty Creature, I See Red, Charlie, Weather With You and Persuasion.

Over the past decade Finn has continued to garner career defining moments such as ventures into theatre and film as well as successful festival appearances at Bluesfest and Homebake. In 2009 he released a 2 disc career Anthology (North, South, East, West) which also featured re-workings of classic Finn songs. He has continued to sell out shows both locally and internationally, where new album release plans are also underway.

The View Is Worth The Climb has proven to be one of Finn’s most satisfying projects to date. He assembled a band of likeminded musicians for the recording; Joey Waronker (Beck, REM), Zac Rae (Macy Gray, Fiona Apple, Cold War Kids), Brett Adams (The Bads), Tony Buchen (Andy Bull) and Mara TK (Electric Wire Hustle). The title track is a co-write with Australia’s leading female artist, the ARIA Award winning Megan Washington.

For all further information regarding The View Is Worth The Climb and all forthcoming Tim Finn tour information go to or Tim Finn’s Facebook page.

Photo: Left to right (back row) - Tony Buchen (bass), Zac Rae (keys), Mara TK (guitar), Joey Waronker (drums), Brett Adams (guitar),
Brad Bivens (engineer) Left to right (front row) - Jacquire King (producer), Tim Finn(vocal/guitar/piano)

Country star Jody Direen’s brush with cyber hackers

Music fans bought $7.3 million worth of music and merch on Friday

Music fans have put over $7.3 million (US$4.3 million) directly into artists' pockets around the world via online music platform Bandcamp's

Global vinyl production threatened by massive production plant fire

A California-based production plant that supplies the lacquer formula used for making master vinyl discs has been destroyed by fire, casting fears about vinyl rec

Four Indigenous artists that you need in your musical rotation

You might know Deadly Hearts as the album collection that features some of the best Indigenous artists Australia has to offer.

triple j Hottest 100 winners that shocked a nation

Nary a Hottest 100 can go by without some kind of countdown calamity.

ABC Music Golden Guitar 2019 Winners

The Australian music industry celebrated the 47

Justine Clarke Wins ARIA Award for Best Children's Album

Justine Clarke has won the award for Best Children’s Album at the 2018 ARIA Awards, held at The Star on Wednesday, November 28.


ABC Classics wins at the 2017 ARIA Awards

At a ceremony on Tuesday 10 October at the Art Gallery of NSW, ABC Classics & Jazz were announced winners of the 2017 ARIA Awards for Best Classical, Best Jazz, Best Original Soundtrack and Bes

Recording the Piano Music of the Baltics

Tamara-Anna Cislowska launches her new album 'Into Silence', recorded in Hobart and Sydney in early 2017 with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

Restoring a 200 year old instrument to record an album

When Erin Helyard came to ABC Classics to record his new solo harpsichord album, we immediately took to Australian harpsichord maker Carey Beebe to find the perfect instrument for the task.