Skip to Navigation

You are here

Pictures from an Exhibition Scott Davie - Piano

Scott Davie


Far from being just a collection of character pieces, Mussorgsky's 'Pictures from an Exhibition' represents a musical journey. The work was created as an act of homage to his friend, the artist Victor Hartmann, who had died in 1873 at the age of 39. One of the most famous works of the classical music repertoire, 'Pictures from an Exhibition' first came to prominence not in its original form but in an orchestration by Maurice Ravel. This recording features the original epic piano work, along with five works by Sergei Rachmaninoff including the world premiere recording of the 'Piano Piece in A-flat major', which was discovered by Scott Davie in the Library of Congress, Washington.

Scott Davie is well known to audiences as a soloist in recitals and concertos. He has given concerts throughout Australia and his performances and recordings are frequently broadcast on radio. His first solo CD, 'Lilacs', featuring the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff, was released by ABC Classics in 2002.

This CD recording features the Overs Piano, 225 (No. 5) which was purchased by the Sydney Conservatorium, and made available on loan for this recording.

Track Listing

  1. Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures from an Exhibition
  2. Sergei Rachmaninoff: First Piano Sonata, Op. 28
  3. Sergei Rachmaninoff: Fragments
  4. Sergei Rachmaninoff: Oriental Sketch
  5. Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Piece in D minor
  6. Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Piece in A-flat major

Released: 2006

6 May 2006