Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Beethoven - Richard Tognetti

“250 years ago, Ludwig van Beethoven, the Grand Mogul from Bonn (as Haydn cheekily
referred to him) was born. The German composer, whose own extraordinary story
famously includes suffering from profound deafness from his late 20s, would become regarded
as the great musical liberator, forging the course of the Romantic movement and beyond.”
Richard Tognetti

In 2020 the Australian Chamber Orchestra will celebrate two monumental anniversaries: 30 years of fearless leadership with ACO Artistic Director Richard Tognetti and 250 years since the birth of the great Ludwig van Beethoven.

To celebrate both milestones, ABC Classic is releasing a collection of the ACO’s legendary Beethoven recordings – including never-before released recordings of two of his greatest works: Symphonies 5 and 6.

These recordings represent some of the orchestra’s finest performances, including two #1 albums and three ARIA Award-nominees, and feature collaborations with some of Australia’s finest artists – soprano Nicole Car, and pianistsTamara Anna Cislowska andErin Helyard.

Beethoven has endured for centuries as one of the most popular and beloved composers around the world, with his music found everywhere from concert halls, to film soundtracks, to disco-era chart-toppers. He was a true musical revolutionary and is credited with paving the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras. His music has always been a mainstay of the ACO’s core repertoire, but this marks the first time that they have recorded these two monumental symphonies.

Since its establishment in November 1975, the Australian Chamber Orchestra has become one of the world’s most daring and exciting ensembles, renowned globally for its inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality, showcased through an extensive and ongoing program of international touring and recordings for many of the world’s top labels.

★★★★★“The Australian Chamber Orchestra was splendid in its all-Beethoven concert… [achieving] revealing clarity that gleamed like the colours of an old master newly restored.”
– Sydney Morning Herald

“[Beethoven’s] Fifth is always a crowdpleaser, and the ACO made it exceptionally so. This was the stuff of dreams.” – Limelight



Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67 *

1   I.   Allegro con brio

2   II.  Andante con moto

3   III.Allegro –

4   IV.Allegro

Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 ‘Pastoral’ *

5   I.   Awakening of cheerful feelings on arrival in the countryside

6   II.  Scene by the brook

7   III.Merry gathering of country folk –

8   IV.Thunder, Storm –

9   V.  Shepherd’s song. Cheerful and thankful feelings after the storm


String Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 130, with Grosse Fuge,
Op. 133
(arr. for string orchestra by Richard Tognetti)

1   I.   Adagio ma non troppo – Allegro

2   II.  Presto

3   III.Poco scherzoso

4   IV.Alla Danza tedesca

5   V.  Cavatina

6   VI.Grosse Fuge

7   Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F major, Op. 50

     Satu Vänskäviolin

8   Piano Concerto No. 5 in
E-flat major, Op. 73 ‘Emperor’: II. Adagio un poco mosso

     Tamara-Anna Cislowska– piano

9   Ah! perfido ... Per pietà, non dirmi addio, Op. 65

     Nicole Car – soprano


Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 30, No. 3

1   I.   Allegro assai

2   II.  Tempo di Minuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso

3   III.Allegro vivace

Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, Op. 47 ‘Kreutzer’

4   Ia.Adagio sostenuto –

5   Ib.Presto

6   II.  Andante con Variazioni

7   III.Presto

     Richard Tognetti – violin

     Erin Helyardfortepiano

8   Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61: I. Allegro ma non troppo

     Richard Tognetti– violin

* Never previously released

Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.